Storm Ready

Local Hazard Mitigation Plan

2021 Update

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) defines Hazard Mitigation as any action taken to reduce or eliminate the long-term risk to human life and property from natural hazards.

Sacramento County partnered with the Cities of Sacramento, Citrus Heights, Elk Grove, Folsom, Galt, Isleton, Rancho Cordova and several special districts to update their countywide 2016 Local Hazard Mitigation Plan (LHMP).  Flood, drought, earthquake, and severe weather are just a few of the hazards to Sacramento communities.  While natural hazards such as these cannot be prevented, a Hazard Mitigation Plan forms the foundation for a community's long-term strategy to reduce disaster losses by breaking the repeated cycle of disaster damage and reconstruction. Communities with a FEMA-approved LHMP are eligible for FEMA pre- and post-disaster grant funding and for lower costs of flood insurance to residents through the National Flood Insurance Program's (NFIP) Community Rating System (CRS).

You can sign up to receive the latest LHMP information by email or text.​

Opportunities for Input

Public Review Draft

You can review the Public Review Draft of the 2021 LHMP Update

It is also available (in printed copy) at the following location starting July, 23, 2021:  

Arcade Library, 2443 Marconi Avenue, Sacramento CA 95821, Hours: Tues – Sat 10am to 6pm (closed Sun and Mon).

Additional Information

For more information on this project and how you can get involved, contact George Booth, Sacramento County Department of Water Resources (DWR) at

​Progress Reports 

The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) has been available in Sacramento County since 1979, allowing access to flood insurance for property owners, tenants, and businesses. In 1992, the County joined the NFIP's Community Rating System (CRS) (Resolution 92-0250). The CRS is a voluntary incentive-based program that recognizes and encourages communities to exceed the FEMA minimum floodplain management standards and rewards communities with discounted flood insurance premiums.

The CRS uses a ranking system from ten to one. Nationally, there are 1444 communities participating in CRS, the 2017 FEMA Fact Sheet describes the significance of Sacramento County's participation (Attachment 1). Since 1992, Sacramento County has steadily improved its rating and is now a Class 2 which provides property owners, tenants, and businesses up to a 40% discount on flood insurance premiums.

In order to maintain this Class 2 rating, Sacramento County is required to provide annual reporting on: